Dinner held at Jin Hong Chinese Restaurant to Celebrate 84 years of Service
Max Carey, our longest serving member of 60 years cutting the anniversary cake
On Monday the 24th May the Rotary club of Taree held a celebratory Dinner at Jin Hong Chinese Restaurant Taree. The meeting was opened by Pres David Denning who welcomed members and guests. Herbie Ploder was inducted as new member. Rotary Club of Taree was chartered on the 25th of May 1937 after holding its first meeting on Wednesday April the 21st, and at that time was sponsored by the Rotary Club of Newcastle. This meeting was attended by Rotarian Roy Hughes, from Rotary Club Newcastle and Governors Special Representative P D G Ted Doran of Rotary Club of Sydney. Taree then had a population of 4,500 and today, 2021, our population is now over 20,000.
The first President was a Dentist, Mr. F. Cuthbert Haddan, and there were 19 Charter members. These members were;
Cuthbert Haddan, Dentistry
C. C. (Johnnie) Walker, a pharmacist as vice President,
W. Brian Davidson, Life Assurance as Secretary,
Merv V. Williams, a Bank Manager as Treasurer,
Hugh G. Scribner, a Jeweller as Sergeant at Arms,
Norm W. Barnes (manager Petrol Depot),
William R. Boyce (Manning River Times),
Ron S. Butterworth (Lawyer),
Alex Herberte (Motor Garage),
W. Percy Chapman (Alderman),
Frank G. Hole (Real Estate),
Reg A. Page (Taree High School),
Charles H. Peel (Drapery Retailer),
A. T. Dolph Saxby (Cordial manufacture),
W. A. Bill Scahill (Royal Hotel),
C. Hilton Soden (Newsagencies),
Doctor Allen Muscio (Medicine),
Charles H. Woolcott (Tyre Repairs).
The Charter Dinner for Rotary Club Taree was held on September 25 1937 and Charter was presented by Tom Armstrong, Immediate Past District Governor of District. Charter Dinner took place in Belmore Hall then in Pulteney St, with representatives from Rotary Clubs Sydney, Newcastle, Canberra, West Maitland, Manly, Armidale and Tamworth as well as Inverell, Wellington, and Cessnock. Sir Robert Garran, District Governor Elect gave the address, recalling that it was only a generation ago that Rotary was started by Paul Harris. Dinner Gong (still in use) was presented at this meeting. During the year following Charter a number of additional members were inducted. Hiram Cowan (Law), Walter Sneddon (Grocery Retail), Doctor Frank Stokes (Medicine), George Burrows (Engineer), Eric Pengelly (Refined Oil Distributing). Fred Burrows (Clothing Retail) Robert Roulston (Banking), Reginald Slaughter (Postal Services), Stewart McGlashan (Surveying), John Carson (Motion Pictures),
The Rotary Club of Taree now has around 40 members with the Rotary Club of Taree North (Chartered 1967) and the Rotary Club of Taree on Manning (Chartered 1991) both being sponsored by the Rotary Club of Taree. Our Club also sponsored the Rotary Club of Kempsey in 1938, the Rotary Club of  Wingham in 1944, the Rotary Club of Port Macquarie in 1947 and the Rotary Club of Tuncurry Forster in 1956. Rotary Clubs of Great Lakes was chartered in 1983 and and Forster on Wallis in 2002. 
Herbie Ploder being inducted as the newest member of Rotary Club of Taree